Davis, Jones, McVay, Sutton newest inductees into GAB Hall of Fame

Davis, Jones, McVay, Sutton newest inductees into GAB Hall of Fame

The 2018 Georgia Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame inductees showcase the best in broadcasting across the state of Georgia with honorees from large and smaller markets in radio and television.

Headlining the group to be installed on Jan. 25, 2018, are Greg Davis, Mary Jones, Tim McVay and Art Sutton.

“This year’s completion was the closest in memory,” said GAB president Bob Houghton. “I congratulate the inductees and thank the judges for the effort they made to choose this year’s outstanding group.”

Davis, CEO and president of Davis Broadcasting Inc., a company he founded in 1986, has spent 39 years in broadcasting.  He has owned stations throughout the Southeast but Columbus, Ga., has been his base of operations where he has shown a track record of dominant ratings and outstanding revenue generation. 

Jones, is the local program director for WJBF TV Augusta. She has been part of the WJBF team for over 40 years in a variety of positions. The common thread in every position she has held is she has been actively involved in serving the local community.

McVay, the recently retired general manager of WSB TV, has worked in Dayton, Pittsburgh and San Francisco for Cox but has spent the majority of his career (in three different stints) in Atlanta at WSB TV. As general manager, his stations have won Peabody, Edward R. Murrow (regional and national) and countless Emmy awards.

Sutton has been a Georgia broadcaster for over 40 years and an owner of radio stations in Georgia and South Carolina for over 30 years.  He currently owns 17 stations in small markets throughout the Southeast.

Broadcasters are nominated for the prestigious award based on a minimum of 20 years in broadcasting with a significant portion of their career spent in Georgia, a solid record of achievement including: rating dominance and local/national awards, and a history of dedication to the communities they serve.

The 2018 induction ceremony will take place on Jan. 25, 2018 with a noon luncheon at the Richard B. Russell Special Collections Library on the University of Georgia campus. 

To register for the Hall of Fame luncheon and Di Gamma Kappa dinner, click here.